Realms of Quest I (Anniversary Edition, 2011)

realms1

The Realms of Quest I was originally made in 1991 by Ghislain de Blois for the Commodore VIC-20 computer.

The Realms of Quest premium edition release (2009) containing the Realms of Quest Trilogy I-II-III, lists the following text in the manual…

“Realms of Quest (1991) Where it all began! It’s world is a dungeon consisting of 20 levels with 8×8 locations all designed by hand by my youngest brother who I paid $0.25 for each floor. To play, refer to the in-game instructions.”

However, the version I will be playing and posting screenshots of is the Realms of Quest I, Anniversary Edition (2011), from the Realms of Quest IV premium edition disk (which contains Realms of Quest I+II+IV+Ultimate Quest: Catacomb). Might as well play the newest/latest version of Realms of Quest I, though perhaps I will play the earlier release at a later point.

Realms of Quest I and II are on side B of the Realms of Quest IV floppy disk and upon loading the disk you can choose between the two games.

select

Keyboard commands are the following…

commands

The plot of Realms of Quest I, is to locate the four shattered pieces of the infinity amulet that lay hidden away deep in the dunjon. Once the amulet is recovered, you must seek out the evil warlock Nikaedor and destroy him in order to free the realms and kingdom of the warlock’s vile grasp.

You must create an adventurer that is willing to take on this vital and heroic task.

Attributes are the following…

attributes

Now GO, and create your character!

create_char

What is thy name?

orangehat

The GUILD

guild

Welcome to the GUILD

welcome_to_the_guild

When you are ready to start the quest, enter the Dunjon and let the quest begin!

start

Fight with the evil monsters that you encounter.

fight

And be victorious!

damage

For more information on where you can obtain the Realms of Quest I Anniversary Edition (included in the Realms of Quest IV VIC-20 release), visit Ghislain’s official Realms of Quest Blog at the link below.

http://realmsofquest.blogspot.com/2014/01/realms-of-quest-ivcommercial-release-is.html

Realms of Quest I – IV are © Ghislain de Blois

If you do not own a Commodore VIC-20 computer, you can download the VICE emulator so that you can run VIC-20 programs on your computer. The VICE emulator is available at http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/

3 thoughts on “Realms of Quest I (Anniversary Edition, 2011)

  1. hitfan

    It’s not really necessary to play the older and original 1991 version of Realms I, except perhaps as a curiosity. The anniversary 2011 version is the definitive and best one.

    I recently came across an old cassette tape of VIC-20 games I had made when I was younger. I was recently playing around with the sumo wrestling game I had made, and I even found an iteration of VIDEO QUEST–my very first RPG, if you can call it that. It basically was a map consisting of a single floor dungeon of 5×5 rooms. It took about 5 minutes to finish it. Another RPG that was made, this time in collaboration with one of the original SYSTEM IIII members I knew from elementary school was called ADVENTURE WORLD. It was purely text based, and it was a “choose your own adventure” type of world. It took all of 2 minutes to solve it.

    I’m tempted to revisit these earliest of my RPGs, combine them with the still-unused elements of the 1993 version of Realms II that is shown on side 2 of the Realms III disk (Realms of Quest II: The Unfinished Version). Elements I’d use from there is the simple 3D maze view, the world map and city maps. I even have a disk image where I was working on an RPG circa 1990 or so called WRATH OF ASMODEUS, and I could throw in elements of that in there as well. What would I call it? REALMS OF QUEST ZERO: ADVENTURE WORLD ?

    Going from memory, this is a list of RPG games I had worked on over the years:

    Video Quest. VIC-20. Finished. There may have been a total of 5 games in this series. (1986, unreleased).
    Adventure World. VIC-20. Made in collaboration with ‘Nanuq’. (1986, unreleased)
    Ultra Quest. C64. Lost (only title screen was done) (1987, lost)
    Quest Realms. C64. Maze engine was done. (1988, lost)
    Quest Realms. C64. Map engine was done. (1989, unreleased)
    Ultimate Quest: Search For The Stolen Sceptre. Halfway Finished. Made in collaboration with R.Guertin (1989, unreleased)
    Catacomb. C64. Title and menu screen was done. Made in collaboration with R.Guertin (1990, unreleased)
    Wrath of Asmodeus. VIC-20. Monster graphics and map engine done. (1990, unreleased)
    Dunjon Master. VIC-20. (1990, released in 2008 on the web)
    Realms of Quest I. VIC-20. (1991, released in 2000 on my Geocities website)
    Realms of Quest II: The Unfinished Version. VIC-20. Monster graphics, map engine and maps were done. (1993, released in 2009 on side 2 of “Realms of Quest III” published by Psytronik)
    Dunjon Master I. VIC-20. This game marked my comeback in making RPG games again. (2003, released on the web).
    Dunjon Master II. VIC-20. (2003, released for the Minigames compo–placed #43)
    Realms of Quest II. VIC-20. This game did not use any elements from the unfinished 1993 version. You could also save games to tape. (2004, released for the Minigames compo–placed #11)
    Realms of Quest II: Special Edition. VIC-20. Changed the savegame to disk. Added theme music. (2006, released for the Minigames compo–placed #2)
    Realms of Quest II: Mega-Cart Edition. VIC-20. (2007, published in physical form in 2009 on the Mega-Cart cartridge).
    Realms of Quest III. VIC-20. (2009, published in physical form by Psytronik as well as a freeware version on the web).
    Realms of Quest III: Dunjon Crawler. VIC-20 (2009, published in physical form by Psytronik as well as a freeware version on the web).
    Realms of Quest IV. C64. Mock and title screen, Almost never got started (2010, unreleased).
    Realms of Quest II: Anniversary Edition. VIC-20. Combines Realms of Quest II: Special Edition (2006) with the monster graphics from Realms of Quest II: The Unfinished Version (1993) into a single cohesive game. (2011, released on the web that same year as well as on side 2 of Realms IV in 2014)
    Realms of Quest I: Anniversary Edition. VIC-20. I cleaned up and improved the original game. (2011, released on the web that same year as well as on side 2 of Realms IV in 2014).
    Realms of Quest IV. VIC-20. (2013, published in physical form by Psytronik in 2014 as well as a freeware version on the web).
    Ultimate Quest: Catacomb. C64. Combines elements from Quest Realms (1989), Ultimate Quest: Search For The Stolen Sceptre (1989) and Catacomb (1990) done in collaboration with R. Guertin. (2013, published in physical form on side 2 of Realms IV by Psytronik, as well as a freeware version on the web.

    There’s still some unreleased material I could use to combine elements from into a single cohesive VIC-20 game that was previously ‘lost’.

    Like

    Reply
  2. rubygolem Post author

    Wow, thanks for the detailed list/reply. I think (Realms of Quest 0: Wrath of Asmodeus) sounds much better than (Realms of Quest 0: Adventure World). Adventure World just sounds too Disney+generic to me. A collection of previously unreleased early works would be sweet! especially on a B-Side of Realms of Quest V (hint hint) :o)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Hitfan

    One of my favorite websites is called “Albums that never were” http://albumsthatneverwere.blogspot.ca/ and the blogger recreates rock albums that were almost finished but were never released. He bases it on bonus tracks and material released in box sets and compilations.

    I like resurrecting my old uncompleted works. And they make for interesting bonus materials for my major published releases.

    I actually envision Realms of Quest V to have four disk sides. I would like it to also feature previously releases and unreleased c64 / vic 20 games:

    Baron’s Castle (1986 text adventure for the C64)
    The Silver Cane (1987 C64 text adventure)
    Transylvania Blitz (1988 C64 text adventure)
    Break-Fast (1988 c64 Commodore Magazine type in program)
    Horse Racing (1989 c64 commodore magazine)
    Tank Battle (c64 1989)
    Feature Bout Boxing (1996 c64)
    Ringside Boxing (1998 c64, published in Loadstar #250 in 2008)

    Realms of Quest Zero (while a new VIC 20 creation, it would use previously unfinished materials, most notably from the 1993 version of Realms II and Wrath of Asmodeus)
    System IIII 1986 Collection
    -Video Quest
    -Adventure World
    -Sumo Wrestling
    System IIII Screenshot Collection (mock ups of unfinished games, from 1990)
    -VICeye The Sailor
    -Ms VIC-Man
    -Tank War 1944 (a precursor to Theater of War)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

